About the Intra-ACP GCCA+ Programme

An initiative of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of States, the Intra-ACP Global Climate Change Alliance Plus (GCCA+) Programme supports ACP countries’ efforts to address climate change.

Since the inception of the first phase in 2011, the initiative has worked with many ACP member states, strengthening dialogue and cooperation on climate change with the most vulnerable developing countries.

Funded by the 11th European Development Fund (EDF), the €70 million Intra-ACP GCCA+ Programme specifically targets ACP Member States, helping them to better tackle climate change as a challenge to their development and implement appropriate adaptation and mitigation responses.

It finances regional programmes managed by ACP regional organisations, and it also includes a technical assistance component, the Climate Support Facility (CSF), to provide demand-driven technical support.

Expected Programme Results

10 Regional Programmes, some of them currently in preparation, will focus on delivering six results

View the results

About the ACP

The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is an organisation created by the Georgetown Agreement in 1975. All 79 African, Caribbean and Pacific member states, except Cuba, are signatories to the Cotonou Agreement,  also known as the “ACP-EC Partnership Agreement”, which binds them to the European Union. Of the 79 states, 48 are from sub-Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean, and 15 from the Pacific.

The ACP Group´s main objectives are:

  • Sustainable development of its Member-States and their gradual integration into the global economy. Poverty reduction is a priority. This requires a new, fairer, and more equitable world order;
  • Coordination of ACP Group activities to facilitate ACP-EC Partnership Agreements;
  • Consolidation of unity and solidarity among ACP States, as well as mutual understanding between their peoples;
  • Establishment and consolidation of peace and stability in a free and democratic society.

About the GCCA+

The Global Climate Change Alliance Plus (GCCA+) is a European Union flagship initiative, which helps the world’s most vulnerable countries to address climate change. Having started with just four pilot projects in 2008, it has become a major climate initiative funding over 70 projects of national, regional, and global scope in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and the Pacific. This EU initiative helps mainly Small Islands Developing States (SIDS) and Least Developed Countries (LDCs) increase their resilience to climate change.

The GCCA+ also supports these group of countries to implement commitments from the 2015 Paris Agreement on Climate Change (COP21). This is in line with the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the new European Consensus on Development.